The Top 20 Nigerian Politicians with the Most Followers On Twitter


In an era where social media platforms have become battlegrounds for political narratives, Twitter stands out as a significant arena where politicians engage with the public, share insights, and influence opinions. 

As we step into 2024, it’s fascinating to see which Nigerian politicians have harnessed the power of Twitter to extend their reach and voice. 

Here’s a closer look at the top 20 most followed Nigerian politicians on Twitter, a list that not only highlights their digital influence but also sheds light on the evolving view of political communication in Nigeria. 

1. Atiku Abubakar (5.13 Million Followers)

Leading the pack with a staggering 5.13 million followers, Atiku Abubakar, the former Vice President of Nigeria, demonstrates an unparalleled digital presence. 

His account is a hub of political discourse, offering a mix of personal insights, policy proposals, and engaging discussions that resonate with a broad audience.

2. Muhammadu Buhari (4.63 Million Followers)

The immediate past President of Nigeria, Muhammadu Buhari’s Twitter handle, @Mbuhari, follows closely with 4.63 million followers. 

His feed is a blend of official announcements, policy decisions, and occasional personal reflections, offering a direct line to the thoughts and actions of Nigeria’s leader.

3. Yemi Osinbajo (4.28 Million Followers)

With 4.28 million followers, former vice President Yemi Osinbajo’s account, @ProfOsinbajo, is a source of inspiration and enlightenment. 

His tweets often focus on governmental achievements during his tenure, innovative policies, and encouraging messages that aim to uplift and inform the Nigerian populace.

4. Peter Obi (4.23 Million Followers)

Peter Obi, with 4.23 million followers, is known for his visionary approach to governance and economic reform. 

His Twitter feed, @PeterObi, is a testament to his commitment to transparency, good governance, and a better future for Nigeria.

5. Dino Melaye (3.83 Million Followers)

Dino Melaye, the senator with a flair for drama, commands the attention of 3.83 million followers. 

His account, @_dinomelaye, is as controversial as it is popular, filled with sharp political commentary, personal vendettas, and a glimpse into the luxurious life of one of Nigeria’s most flamboyant politicians.

6. Shehu Sani (3.27 Million Followers)

Senator Shehu Sani, with 3.27 million followers, is renowned for his activism and straightforward approach to political issues. 

His Twitter handle, @ShehuSani, serves as a platform for advocating human rights, democracy, and social justice, engaging his followers with thought-provoking content that transcends political boundaries.

7. Bukola Saraki (3.14 Million Followers)

Bukola Saraki, the former Senate President, boasts 3.14 million followers. 

His Twitter, @BukolaSaraki, is a blend of political insights, policy discussions, and engagements with constituents, reflecting his strategic approach to governance and legislation.

8. Goodluck Jonathan (2.41 Million Followers)

Goodluck Jonathan, with 2.41 million followers, offers a statesman’s perspective on national and global issues. 

His handle, @GEJonathan, is characterized by diplomatic discourse, peace advocacy, and reflections on his presidency, echoing those interested in Nigeria’s development and its role on the world stage.

9. Bola Tinubu (2.39 Million Followers)

Nigerian President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, with 2.39 million followers, is a figure of immense political influence in Nigeria.

His account, @officialABAT, shares insights into his vision for Nigeria, political philosophies, and engagements with the public, highlighting his role as a key architect of modern Nigerian politics.

10. Nasir El-Rufai (2.32 Million Followers)

Nasir Ahmad El-Rufai, the former Governor of Kaduna State, has 2.32 million followers. 

His Twitter, @elrufai, is a window into his reformative governance style, focusing on educational reforms, infrastructure development, and policy innovations that aim to transform Kaduna State and set a precedent for others.

11. Jide Sanwoolu (2.06 Million Followers)

Lagos State Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu, with 2.06 million followers, brings an urban visionary’s perspective to his Twitter handle, @jidesanwoolu.

His focus on Lagos State’s development, infrastructure, and urban planning reflects his commitment to making Lagos a global city.

12. Ben Murray-Bruce (1.96 Million Followers)

Ben Murray-Bruce, with 1.96 million followers, combines politics with entrepreneurship on his Twitter, @benmurraybruce.

His tweets advocate for economic policies that support entrepreneurship, entertainment, and sustainable development, making him a unique voice in Nigerian politics.

13. Garba Shehu (1.58 Million Followers)

With 1.58 million followers, Garba Shehu, the former Senior Special Assistant on Media and Publicity to the President, uses @GarShehu to disseminate official communications, clarify government positions, and engage with the Nigerian populace on current issues.

14. Femi Fani Kayode (1.36 Million Followers)

Femi Fani-Kayode, a former Minister, is known for his outspoken and often controversial political commentary. 

With 1.36 million followers, his Twitter, @realFFK, is a blend of political advocacy, historical reflections, and personal opinions on the state of the nation.

15. Festus Keyamo (1.21 Million Followers)

Festus Keyamo, with 1.21 million followers, uses his handle, @fkeyamo, to share legal insights and political viewpoints and engage in debates over national issues, reflecting his background as a lawyer and his involvement in politics.

16. Femi Gbajabiamila 1.16 Million Followers)

Femi Gbajabiamila, the former Speaker of the House of Representatives, has 1.16 million followers. His account, @femigbaja, focuses on legislative activities, governance, and efforts to enhance democratic processes in Nigeria.

17. Akinwumi Ambode (1.06 Million Followers)

Akinwunmi Ambode, former Governor of Lagos State, with 1.06 million followers, shares his experiences and insights into governance, urban development, and public service through his Twitter, @AkinwunmiAmbode.

18. Yakubu Dogara (872,000 Followers)

Yakubu Dogara, with 872,000 followers, is a former Speaker of the House of Representatives. His Twitter, @YakubDogara, is dedicated to advocacy for democracy, good governance, and the welfare of the common man.

19. Raji Fashola (827,000 Followers)

Babatunde Fashola, with 827,000 followers, served as a Minister with a multifaceted portfolio. His Twitter, @tundefashola, sheds light on his work in sectors like power, works, and housing, showcasing his efforts to improve Nigeria’s infrastructure.

20. Nyesom Wike (794,000 Followers)

Nyesom Wike, the former Governor of Rivers State, who currently serves as the Minister of the FCT, rounds off the list with 794,000 followers. Known for his boldness, @GovWike is a mix of governance updates, personal convictions, and a strong voice for federalism and state rights.


Nigeria’s top politicians are using Twitter to speak out, connect, and stand up for causes. Their active use of Twitter shows how important social media is for modern politics. 

It makes talking to leaders easier and shows us the real people behind their public roles. As we watch them use Twitter, it’s clear that the platform will remain essential for political discussions in Nigeria and elsewhere.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here