Portuguese and Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo won his third Ballon d’Or today at the Federation of International Football Association (FIFA) ceremony held in Zurich and beamed live to football fans all over the world.

The 29-year-old — who played a key role in his club’s 10th Champions League victory last year — defeated Argentine and four-time winner Lionel Messi of Barcelona and Bayern Munich and Germany’s World Cup winning goalkeeper Manuel Neuer.

The award was presented to Ronaldo by Arsenal’s legend, Thierry Henry, who retired from professional football after an illustrious career spanning 20 years.

The award winner is usually voted by Captains and Coaches of football national teams and selected media personnel.

See the voting results on FIFA website.

It will be recalled that Real Madrid became the first club in Champions League history to win all their group matches on two occasions after  4-0 win over Bulgarian side Ludogorets in this season’s Champions League.