5 Most Controversial Nigerian Presidents Since Independence


Nigeria, Africa’s most populous country, has had a tumultuous political history since gaining independence from Britain in 1960. Its presidents have often found themselves at the center of controversies that have shaped the nation’s trajectory. Here, Naijassador delves into the lives and legacies of five of the most controversial Nigerian presidents since independence.

General Yakubu Gowon (1966-1975)

Yakubu Gowon, an army general, became the youngest head of state in 1966 after a coup, at the age of 31. His presidency was significant for the Nigerian Civil War (1967-1970) – which was called the Biafran War, a long and bloody battle period in the country. The most remembered controversy during the period of Gowon’s regime was the Nigerian Civil War. The war killed an estimated 1-3 million people, most of them from starvation and disease in the Biafran enclave. The conflict resulted from simmering ethnic, political and economic tension among the military upper class. Gowon’s government also was blamed for inefficiency and corruption despite the huge profits recorded by the oil boom in the early 1970s. A lot of the oil money was squandered on unproductive spending and others, so the masses were unhappy. Although Gowon is mostly remembered for his instrumental role in keeping Nigeria unified, his management of the Biafran War afterwards caused this part of his reign to be shrouded in controversy.

General Ibrahim Babangida (1985-1993)

In 1985, Ibrahim Babangida, otherwise known as IBB, seized power in a military coup. It simply happened to be one of the most controversial administrations in the history of Nigeria and Africa, for economic and political reasons. He introduced a program to restructure the economy, known as the IMF and World Bank-backed Structural Adjustment Program. While it was aimed at increasing economic growth, it resulted in considerable social hardships, including high rates of inflation, high levels of unemployment, and widespread poverty. The June 12, 1993, presidential election considered the freest and fairest in Nigerian history was annulled by Babangida who described the decision to annul the election as the most difficult he had ever made in his life. An election, allegedly by M.K.O. Abiola, was annulled on no tenable ground, to the ire of the whole country, gridlocking the polity in a protracted political wilderness. In Babangida’s era, allegations of corruption and financial impropriety were widespread. He is often blamed for institutionalizing corruption in the Nigerian political space. While Babangida is acknowledged for introducing major economic and political reforms in Nigeria, his regime was also riddled with deep-rooted corruption and the annulment of the 1993 election, a decision that has continued to haunt his legacy.

YOU WILL ALSO LIKE:  See the Full List of America's One-Term Presidents & Why They Were Not Re-Elected

General Sani Abacha (1993-1998)

Sani Abacha took power in a coup in 1993 and ruled Nigeria with an iron fist until his sudden death in 1998. His regime is considered one of the most repressive in Nigeria’s history. Abacha’s regime was notorious for its brutal suppression of dissent. Prominent figures such as Ken Saro-Wiwa and other Ogoni activists were executed, leading to international condemnation. He is widely believed to have embezzled between $3 billion and $5 billion from Nigeria’s coffers. The money was stashed in foreign accounts, and efforts to recover the looted funds continue to this day. His regime dissolved political institutions, banned political activities, and detained numerous political opponents and activists without trial. Abacha’s rule is synonymous with authoritarianism, corruption, and human rights abuses. His legacy remains one of the darkest periods in Nigeria’s post-independence history.

YOU WILL ALSO LIKE:  Top 5 Former Nigerian Presidents And Their Achievements

Olusegun Obasanjo (1976-1979; 1999-2007)

Olusegun Obasanjo is a unique figure in Nigerian history, having ruled as a military head of state from 1976 to 1979 and as a civilian president from 1999 to 2007. His dual tenure has been marked by both achievements and controversies. During his second term as a civilian president, Obasanjo was accused of attempting to amend the constitution to allow for a third term in office. This move faced significant opposition and was seen as a threat to Nigeria’s democratic process. Despite his anti-corruption stance, Obasanjo’s administration was marred by allegations of corruption, particularly involving the privatization of state enterprises and the handling of the Petroleum Technology Development Fund (PTDF). His public fallout with Vice President Atiku Abubakar created significant political tension and instability within the country. Obasanjo is credited with stabilizing Nigeria’s democracy and implementing economic reforms, but his legacy is tainted by allegations of corruption and the controversial third-term agenda.

YOU WILL ALSO LIKE:  Top 5 Former Nigerian Presidents And Their Achievements

Goodluck Jonathan (2010-2015)

Goodluck Jonathan rose from deputy governor to vice president and eventually became president after the death of President Umaru Musa Yar’Adua in 2010. His presidency was marked by significant economic growth but also by substantial controversy. Jonathan’s tenure saw the escalation of the Boko Haram insurgency, which led to widespread violence and the displacement of millions. His government was criticized for its perceived ineffectiveness in addressing the security challenges. The Jonathan administration faced numerous corruption scandals, including the infamous fuel subsidy scam, which cost the country billions of dollars. The administration’s inability to tackle corruption effectively led to public disillusionment. The 2015 elections were highly contentious, with allegations of electoral malpractice. However, Jonathan is also credited with peacefully conceding defeat to Muhammadu Buhari, a move that was hailed as a significant step for Nigerian democracy. Goodluck Jonathan is remembered for presiding over economic growth and his peaceful concession of power, but his presidency is also marked by significant security challenges and corruption scandals.


These five presidents have left indelible marks on Nigeria’s political landscape. Their legacies are complex, encompassing both achievements and controversies that continue to influence the country’s development. Understanding their tenures provides insight into the challenges and complexities of governance in one of Africa’s most influential nations.

Written by Sarah Aboje


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here